Railtours Ireland logo - top halfRailtoursIreland.comdo a big chunk of Ireland in one or more days
Railtours Ireland logo - bottom halfRailtours Ireland - Home Railtours Ireland - Tour Details Railtours Ireland - Testimonials Railtours Ireland - Frequently Asked Questions  - FAQsRailtours Ireland - BOOK NOW Railtours Ireland - Dublin Accommodation Railtours Ireland - Contact
Celebrating over 10 years of Irish hospitality
do a big chunk of ireland in a dayRussianBienvenue / Railtours en FrancaisBenvenuto / Railtours in ItalianWilkommen - Railtours in GermanFáilte - Railtours In Irish

TESTIMONIALS!

This past Wed Lori and Fred Kast of Lincoln RI had the pleasure to have Dave as our Tour Guide on the Cork Tour departing from Dublin.It was a Grand Tour and Dave did a great job of describing the history on the stops we made.  The weather was rainy, but he made the day filled with sun!

We also went on a tour to the Cliff's on Monday from Dublin and that Tour Guide also did a fantastic job.  We are sorry but we forgot his name could it be from have too Many Guinness? :)
Credit should also be given to our bus drivers who kept all safe along our travels to the various spots.
Cheers and thanks

Fred and Lori Kast December 2013


With reference to our recent trip to Ireland, we booked a trip to Cork for the day with Railtours Ireland going from Dublin Railway Station on Wednesday, 30th October 2013.
Our representative Dave Gallagher who was our guide during our visit was most knowledgeable and pointed out all the sights to be seen.   We would like to express our thanks especially to him and the coach driver to make this a very memorable day and would recommend Railtours Ireland to all our friends and visiting tourists.


Once again many thanks for a superb day.
Well recommended.

Best wishes

Paul and Jackie Marker November 2013

To whom it may concern,
I went on the Giants Causeway/Antrim Coast day tour on 12-10-2013 with Sean as the tour director and Tony (our driver from Belfast) and I just wanted to say what a wonderful time I had!   This was my first trip abroad and I had such an enjoyable day and both the Sean and Tony were informative and entertaining!
          I plan on coming back to Ireland next year and will most definitely be taking another trip with Railtours Ireland.
Thanks so much!

Jennifer Reneau October 2013

Hi,

I wanted to get back to you on our experiences with Railtour Ireland (DH036, Cork, Blarney Castle, The Ring of Kerry and the Cliffs of Moher). Both my husband David and I enjoyed the tour immensely. Ireland is a beautiful country and we hope to return very soon.  Our accommodations at the Killarney International Hotel were lovely and perfectly situated for exploring all that Killarney has to offer. 

We truly appreciated the extra effort and congeniality of our host/tour guide Dave Gallagher.  Brendan Smith and the bus drivers John and Joe were also awesome.  Dave and Brendan were funny, friendly, and helpful.  Their banter and Irish wit added so much to our experience.  Their knowledge and love for their homeland was apparent. Thanks to John and Dave we are now fans of curling! Additionally Dave was courteous, conscientious, organized, and professional.  He always had fantastic recommendations for places to eat, shop and visit. 

Please pass along our many thanks to Dave, Brendan, John and Joe for adding so much to our experience. 


Marita Malskis and David Bodkin October 2013

Dear Sir,
I am more than happy to write in to say a few good words on Dave Gallaghar, the tourist guide for our trips with Railtours Ireland, the Ring of Killarney (one and half days) and the Cliff of Mohar (one day) from Oct 5 to 7. Dave was a conscientious guide. He took good care of us in the trips. His sense of humor turned his stories of the places interesting. Other than enjoying the scenery, we learnt the history of Ireland as well. Please let him know that we enjoyed his company.
Yours sincerely



Kam Cheung Wong
Hong Kong October 2013

RAILTOURS Ireland "first class!"  completely sums it.  We just got back from the 4 day Great Southern and Western Coast tour. As many testimonials before me, best money ever spent!!  We were not only greeted at the Dublin Airport but treated like royalty for the complete time we were in Ireland. We added the 2 day hop on hop off pass in Dublin with the extra hotel included, what a bargain that was.  I would love to express how wonderful ALL of our tour guides were and the drivers.  I would like to give a special shout out to Peter White, Jim Reed and Ray.  Also Joe our driver on our last day to the Cliffs of Moher.  What a wonderful group of people who are not only knowledgeable but also so personable...no question or request was too much. I wish now I would have taken a longer tour.  Also our accommodations while in Ireland were TOP RATE.  What a wonderful experience from beginning to end!!
Might have to make it an annual pilgrimage.



Cheryl Cox
Dublin, Ohio USA September 2013
Good morning Millie
My wife and I just wanted to again say thank you for your telephone call last Wednesday.
Rail Ireland Tour (Kilkenny and Waterford) was all we could have asked for.
More importantly, we fell in love with Kilkenny and the pride the town residents take in their homes and businesses.
With out a doubt Kilkenny was clean, beautiful and friendly based on our interactions with some of the residents.
Dave and Kevin were professional, friendly, helpful and added to our adventure. Please extend our thanks to both of them for their efforts. Thank you again for assisting in switching our tour. I personally want to say it was a pleasure meeting you Saturday morning and hope my Chicago demeanor did not put you off.
Gayle and I wish you a great fall season.
Kind regards from Chicago

Gayle and Dan Devin
Chicago September 2013

Dear Sirs/Madams
Last week my wife and I took a five-day railtour of southern Ireland with Dave Gallagher as our tour host for the first three days.   He was absolutely wonderful as a tour guide, helping people as we went through our days together, and with his narrations.   He juggled adding people, subtracting people, and directing people to their trains or buses, all while being pleasant and helpful.   Obviously I am writing to send kudos to Dave.
Kudos also to John, our driver/tour guide on our day trip from Galway to Connemara and Kylemore castle; his nearly continuous narration meant that we learned a lot about that beautiful part of your country.

We loved our time in Ireland, and certainly will recommend Railtours Ireland to our friends who are contemplating travel to your country.   We liked that your company had people meeting trains and buses who directed us to our hotels or departure travel.   The hotels in Killarney and Galway were first-rate and the places we visited were varied and interesting.   And we were never hurried.   In all, good work and keep doing what you are doing.
Sincerely,

1131 Larchmont Crescent
Norfolk, Virginia 23508

USA


Robert K. Rose
Norfolk, Virginia 23508 August 2013

Hello Jennifer,

I want to thank all of you at Railtours, my husband Bill and I had such a great time with all the folks on the tour (29 thru 1 Aug).

Arizona USA August 2013

Recently we returned home after participating in a the 6 day all Ireland Rail tour beginning Wednesday, August 7, 2013.  As this was our first rail tour and first visit to Ireland, we were unsure of what to expect.
To say we were pleasantly surprised would be an understatement.  The trip was fantastic.  The areas we visited were beautiful, the train travel was excellent (and on time), the hotels and bed & breakfast were comfortable and well located in the communities.  We particularly enjoyed  the visit to Cork and The Blarney Castle, The ring of Kerry and the trip to the Aran Islands.The visit to The Giant's Causeway was spectacular.
Our enjoyment of the trip was due, in no small part, to the excellent services of our Host/Guide for most of the days/tours, Dave Gallagher.  He provided an informed commentary, great Irish wit and humor, excellent tips to get through the attractions and generally to make the most of our visit.  He was in fact an integral part of our tour to your beautiful country.

Thank You for a wonderful time.

 Richard E. and Barbara A. Jones

 



Florida August 2013

Dear Railtours Ireland,
  We just returned from a 9 day tour with your company.  We had a great time in Ireland, thanks to your company.  The guides and other personnel went out of their way to be helpful and were very knowledgeable.  The accomodations were luxurious and convenient to trains and buses.  The tours were wonderful and the weather even cooperated.  We will definitely recommend your tour company to everyone. 
Thank you again for a memorable experience. 
We hope to return. 
Jane and Doug Miller


July 2013

I wish to express my thanks for your professionalism and courtesy in making our Ireland tour enjoyable. My wife suffers from motion sickness and your tour representatives assistance and courtesy in helping her find proper travel accommodations made the trip very enjoyable.

The yellow jacketed tour guides were so helpful and really nice people to be around. I hate to single out any people for special mention since they were all so good. They make the tour special.

I will write a review in Trip Advisor so that others may be apprised of your excellent services.

Paul Fischl


July 2013

Norm Foster is the best tour guide ever! He was truly amazing! This guy deserves a raise I cannot express how incredible he was.

Love,

The party 14 from St.louis

St Louis, Missouri June 2013

Dear Railtours Ireland:


Just wanted to send a note to let you know what a splendid time we had with our tour. We were met at the airport by Richard who saw us safely to the Clarion Hotel.  The next morning we were met at the Connolly Train Station by Brendon Smith who was our tour guide for the day to Belfast, and Giant's Causeway, Rope Bridge and then to our Europa Hotel.  We had a wonderful day and Brendon made the trip a lot of fun as well as our bus driver Lloyd.  We have wonderful memories of our time in beautiful Ireland and will be sure to let others know of your tours. We enjoyed our second day in Belfast and used the Hop On Hop Off bus as well as visiting the Titanic Museum, that was awesome.  We took the train back to Dublin and enjoyed the Hilton Hotel, and also used the Hop On Hop Off bus through Dublin and enjoyed the city tour too.  We made a visit to the Guinness Factory, a lot of fun.


Thanks again, I have attached a picture of Brendon! Please pass on our kind regards!


Ray and Cheryl Koetsier, Ancaster, Ontario, Canada


 


May 2013

Good afternoon,

We had a great time on our tour yesterday, March 2nd. Our tour was for the Cliffs, Bunratty Castle, and Galaway. Our tour guide (Eric) was very knowledgeable and helpful. The sights were beautiful. Eric made the tour more enjoyable by using personal experience and answering all questions to the best of his ability.

Katherine Keidel March 2013

Good Evening,
I wanted to take the time to write and let you know about the outstanding experience we had on our Railtours Ireland - Cliffs of Moher tour.  The day was perfect from start to finish as your company clearly takes the time to execute all the details flawlessly.  From the easy online booking process, to a seamless meet/greet/boarding process at the train station and last but not least a fantastic lineup for the day.  It is a very long day (12 hours) but it flies due to a well balanced and exciting itinerary!  
With all that said, the absolute best part of the day was our tour guide, Dave Gallagher!   We had a small group, only seven of us, so we all got to know each other and Dave quickly.  He took the time on the way out to Limerick to learn about each of us, where we were from, what we had already seen, how many days we were going to be there, what other sights we planned to see, etc.  He took genuine interest in us and you could see and feel the pride he had in the country and all it had to offer us tourists.  He was informative, funny and conversation flowed so easily as we went thru the day - we learned so much about the different places we stopped at and even the places we were just passing thru en route to our next stop.  The group decided to spend some extra time in Galway, so instead of taking the 5 o'clock train home, we took the 7:15 train which added hours to an already long working day for Dave but not once did he hesitate or complain - in fact, he encouraged us to do so even though it was 'off schedule' which was much appreciated!!
Through the course of conversation, Dave found out we had two days that we were still looking to plan.  He sat down with us on the train ride home for quite some time and went thru suggestions in deep detail (including helping us look up train time schedules, bus stops, walking directions, pub & restaurant suggestions) of what he thought we would enjoy.  It was so helpful and kind - he wasn't trying to pitch us on another trip with Railtours - he genuinely wanted to help us make the most of our time and he did!
Dave went well above and beyond his responsibilities to us as our guide and was a true pleasure to spend the day with.  We found many helpful, kind and friendly people while in your country, however, Dave left a lasting impression of the kind of person/tour guide that will keep people coming back for many years to come!  Please know that he is an outstanding ambassador who taught us so much about the countries' history, landmarks but mostly about the good hearted honest nature of it's people.
Thanks for a great experience and we hope to book again with you some day.
Cheers

Trish Maus March 2013

A most excellent trip to Dublin the assistance and help was out of this world. Will be going again for a bit longer in the spring or summer. My many thsnks to Jim who we meet on the train from London to Holyhead, then to Doblin. He was most helpful and informative. 

Again thanks,

Richard Bogazzi.
London February 2013

Just to let you know we had a lovely time in Waterford on our tour. Waterford has loads to offer we were busy the whole time. The train ride was very relaxing and we were given a fantastic room in the hotel and had some delicious meals.
Liam, who met us at the train station, was a real sweetheart and very concerned that we were comfortable and knew the process of the journey and knew what to expect when we arrived in Waterford. 
Thank you also for your quick and personal email responses.
All the best for a very happy festive season!
kind regards,



Gillian and Ben (and our 2 sons) December 2012

This is to express my appreciation for the one day journey to the West coast of Ireland today.


November 2012
I would like to send you a quick note to let you know that I really enjoyed the Cliffs of Moher tour with Dave Gallagher on September 29th.  This was my first visit to Ireland and Europe - Dave proved to be a very knowledgeable and engaging guide.  I learned a lot about Ireland, and will definitely book another tour with your company when I return.

 Best regards,




Lingling October 2012
Returned from Dublin on 30 Sept. A great part of that trip were the two tours with Railtours...Connemara and Galway Bay and The Cliffs of Mohr, Bunratty Castle and Galway. The guides were wonderful with open, honest, and interesting dialogue. Brian even sang to me... :-) For me it was nice to get on in Dublin and feel like I was in good hands to get me back. Your ensuring the logistics were set up let me enjoy the experience even more.

Thank you!

Sherri Titus October 2012

Dear, Dave,
At last our photos for you . We are well settled back in London , but fondly remembering our holiday in Ireland. We booked the holiday on the internet , and found the site simple and easy to use . On our arrival in Dublin we were very pleased with the gentleman who met us and escorted us to the bus. He  then  proceeded to provide  us with an entertaining and informative commentry about Dublin  all the way to our hotel.  The hotel in Dublin was excellent and the proximity to the railway station made  transfers very easy.
The whole four day  tour was organised with great efficiency, food throughout the tour was very enjoyable --- large portions!!!!. It goes without saying that we found the scenery and landscapes truly beautiful , blessed as we were with good weather.
We would add that your skills as a guide, good humour and patience  with the visitors, added enormously to our enjoyment of the tour. We also had a splendid day visiting Connemara , Pat was an excellent guide also.  The Killarney hotel was great too, swimming pool very warm, an added bonus. 
For you  the tours are a weekly event throughout the season , but your knowlege and enthusiasm was shared wih us as though it was the first time for you as well.
Thank you very much.
Yours sincerely,



John and Dorothy Denny. October 2012

I have just filed a review with Trip Advisor, but must tell you what a good time we had on Sept. 19th.  We were met at the Connolly St station by Peter.  Sadly he was only coming as far as Belfast with us, and then handed us over to Phil.  A delightful person, very knowledgeable, hard working and has the patience of a saint with people who are late back to the coach!!!!

It was a long day, but worth it.  We hope to do other trips with you next year.  Thanks so much.



Cindy Leivo October 2012

Hi.

My wife and I were recently on the 3-Day tour of Cork, Ring of Kerry, and The Dingle Penninsula (DH03D-BC-1892012).

We enjoyed the whole tour, but wanted to highlight one particular bright spot: Eilish O'Sullivan.

Eilish's responsibility was to meet our group at the Cobh rail station and get us into a taxi/bus in Killarney.

Rather than do the minimum to meet this requirement, she went well beyond.

On the train, she gave each tourist (or group) maps of Killarney, highlighting their hotel or B&B, and where to get the bus for the next day's tour.

 She also talked to us individually, asking about our particular interests and what we wanted to get our of our stay in Killarney. She ended up giving my wife and I restaurant recommendations that she thought would suit our tastes (they did!), directions so we could take a short walk in the Killarney National Park and to the Spar near our hotel, and an easy recipe for a delightful-sounding dessert.Due to my wife's illness on the day of the Dingle tour, we were not able to return to Dublin with our scheduled group. We were waiting for a different train the next morning, when we happened to meet her at the station. She remembered us, and was surprised to see us. She seemed quite concerned about my wife's illness, and asked if there were anything she could do to help us out. It was really kind of her. We had everything under control though, so conversation turned to other topics. It became clear that she's quite knowledgeable about the local geography and history. In spite of the fact that our other tour guides were very good, we felt that we would've loved to have had her for all of our tours.

 She certainly enhanced our experience in Killarney.

Thanks for your time,

 


 


 



Blair October 2012

Hello,
Last week I spent a Wanderflug Trip around Killarney, especially the staying in the B&B.
Beauties was very comfortable, quiet, elegant , very good breakfast.
Thank you very much



Dr.P.Loos
Hamburg/Germany September 2012

Our tour guide, David Gallagher met us at the Heuston Station where we
boarded the train for the first leg of our journey. Dave gave us excellent
service and went above and beyond for us all, even for the complainers. He
was very knowledgeable and gave us lots of good history and background on each leg of the tour.  He also gave us very good directions and went around to each person to try to help them with their individual needs. It seemed like a daunting task to help each of us with our various itineraries. We thoroughly enjoyed this trip and Dave made it even more enjoyable with his Irish hospitality.



Dave & Julie V
Portland OR September 2012

A short note to let you know we had such a wonderful time on our tour, September 11, 2012 to the Blarney Castle and Cork.  Dave Gallagher was our guide and he provided many laughs and facts.  He made the trip that much more memorable.  When we visit Ireland again, we will most definitely take another tour. 
Thank you for providing us with a fun filled day!

Sincerely,
Roger and Jana Bridges
Prescott, Arizona



 



 


September 2012

We are just coming back from a three day tour of the west coast of Ireland having been on a Railtours Ireland tour. Our tour guide was Dave Gallagher. He did a fantastic job. All along the way he would recommend the best restaurants and pubs as well as the best side tours to take. We had not traveled with a tour in the past usually choosing our own itinerary. But if we could expect the same success that we had with Railtours Ireland we would not think twice about booking with a tour company. Thanks for a wonderful experience, Dave. You were instrumental in making our tour very special.



Shahrzad Ansari Koenig September 2012

Hello,


I write to tell you how much we enjoyed the tour to Northern Ireland provided by Railtours Ireland.  Dave Gallagher was our tour guide and he did an excellent job.  I purchased items at the brewery but at the end of the day left the bag on the bus.  I saw the bus driver  the next day and he  said that they did find the bag and would send it to their office in Dublin.  After our return I called the office several times and Shane was kind enough to help.  He talked with Dave and Dave brought the bag to our hotel.  I greatly appreciated his delivering the bag as we were leaving the country the next day.  I am sure that he did this on his own time.  Again, we enjoyed the tour and wanted to make sure that your knew what a great job Dave did.


Shirley Carr


September 2012

On Thursday, May 31, 2012 we took the Waterford-Kilkenny one day tour and had a terrific experience.  The countrsyide was beautiful and at every spot along the way there was something interesting to look at.  Our tour guide, Philip Neil O'Neill was wonderful.  Well organized and informative he made the experience memorable and understandable.  He provided the proper context to see these places. He is also a wealth of information as he was able to provide an historical context that helped to make the tour a great day.  I hope some day to return  and look forward to touring with him again. 


Phil and Cathy Hanson

162 N. Canyon Drive

Bolingbrook, Illinois  60490


June 2012

I booked a day tour with you all for May 22 2012. I booked the Limerick, Cliffs of Mohr and Galaway Bay tour. I found the guides to be very informative, friendly, and just lovely. I wasnt your typical tourist, Im guessing since I am Black American. The guides made me feel at ease and I had booked all my tours online in the countries I visited in the month of May. I found this one to be the best. Thank you so much for your professionalism. The guides in training were just as lovely.


Thank you,
Nadine Griffith

 


June 2012

On my trip to Ireland with my grandma, we had two railtours of Ireland planned.  Both times we had Dave Gallagher as our tour guide.  Never before had I ever had such a great tour guide as Dave.  He was informative, polite, entertaining, and helpful.  I applaud you at RailTours Ireland for employing such an incredible guide for us.  He really got to know us and helped with anything from restaurant recomendations to personally getting taxis for my 87 year old grandmother (who enjoyed him as much as I did).  I hope that you can pass this message along to Dave and reward him for all the incredible work that he has done and is still doing. When I return to Ireland with my whole family, I will take them on the RailTours Ireland trips, and I will be sincerely hoping that we will have Dave as our guide because he is the best guide I have ever had for any trip ever.                                           -James Sullivan


June 2012

Hello.  My son and I just returned from a trip to Ireland, and we wanted to let you know that Dave Gallagher was a great tour guide.  We did a three-day trip.  Thank you!


June 2012

We would like to share with you how wonderful Dave Gallagher was as our tour guide on May 22, 2012 to the Cliffs of Moher, Burren and Galway Bay.  He was very knowledgeable and assured that all the people on the tour enjoyed their day.  He was also helpful in advising us on our continued travel in Northern Ireland.  We hope to make it back to Ireland and hope to be lucky enough to have Dave as our guide again!


Thank you!

John & Chris Jarrett
Jacksonville, FL, USA

 


June 2012

We would like to thank you for a wonderful tour of the Ring of Kerry. You were welcoming, interesting in the lore of Ireland, caring in the way that you helped everyone by directing us to our final destinations with detailed instructions and so much more! I especially appreciate that you took the time to photograph my daughter and me at the interesting stops as my husband was way too busy taking photos of the breathtaking scenery! We have taken many tours but you out-shined any of those tour directors. We sincerely want to thank you for the wonderful experience and wish you all the best.


May 2012

Dear Railtour,

We want to thank your tour company for the wonderful Ring of Kerry tour our family took with Dave Gallagher. In addition to the breathtaking scenery, Dave was warm, welcoming and very interesting in his knowledge of Irish history and lore. It made all the places that we visited more interesting. We all understood by listening to him that he truly loves what he does. He took a genuine interest in the people on the tour and even took the time to ensure that at the end of the tour we would all make our connections whether it was by plane, train or bus. The tour day is long to be sure but he was very patient and answered everyone's questions. Because my husband was so busy taking pictures with his new camera, Dave even offered to take pictures of my daughter and I at some of the stops. That was huge on my list. You have done very well to have him on staff. Because the tour was so much fun, I am in the process of trying to get all my sisters to come on tour with me next year!

Please let Dave know how much we appreciate all that he did for us on the tour. I will send you a few pictures, Dave mentioned that you might use them on Facebook. We would be happy to do that for your company.

Thanks again for a wonderful tour.



Jill, Barry and Sarah Beyer May 2012

On April 13, 2012 I took the Rail Tour to Cork, the Blarney Castle, and Cobh.  Mr. Dave Gallagher was the Tour Guide.  I would like to say how easy it was to identify the Rail Tours check-in area because of the easy-to-identify signage and jackets.  Mr. Gallagher took our small group to the train and assisted us graciously all along the way of the tour.  He was helpful and informative, polite and respectful.  I would like to thank him and your company for a great day!  I would encourage anyone to use your services.  Thanks again!


Margaret Louise Elpers

 


May 2012

I want to let you know what an asset you have in Dave Gallagher!  A friend and I were on our first visit to Ireland and booked a tour with your company to the Cliffs of Moher on Tuesday, 3/20/12.  Dave was our guide and we were both very impressed with his knowledge, humor and the skill with which he brought Ireland to life for us.


In addition, Dave told us about a tour that was available the next day to the Giant's Causeway.  He booked the tour for us and made sure we had all the information we needed for the next day.  Truly great customer service.


I also want to mention that our guide to the Giant's Causeway was also a gem!  Jim Reed was delightful, a wealth of knowledge and fun to spend the day with.


We were impressed with the experience and the value.  We look forward to booking with you again when we return to Ireland.


Joanne Ames

Minnepolis, MN USA
April 2012

Hi.  My wife Rachel and I did the DH36 tour last Tuesday, Wednesday, and Thursday.  I wanted to pass along compliments about our guide, Norman, for being exceptional for the entirety of the tour.  He was (and I assume still is!) knowledgeable about all things Ireland, has a great sense of humor, and is a true gentleman.  Railtours should be proud to have him on staff.  We enjoyed our tour very much, and Normal played a large part in that.

All the best,

-Erik Cox


 


 


March 2012

Thank you so much for the tour last week. I found Dave Gallagher, our tour guide, entertaining and quite informed. He was very helpful on the train ride home, assisting everyone with any questions they had.

 

Thanks again!

Cal
March 2012

Good day,


It was my first visit to Ireland in Jan 2012. I discovered on the internet that only Railtours Ireland offer tours in January. I took the 6 days all Ireland tour.


The tour was fantastic. Everything was excellent. I would like to thank your staff for good job and excellent service.


Railtours Ireland is well organized company with professional and friendly Tour Guides.


Especially I'd like to thank Dave Gallagher and bus driver of my last trip from Dublin to Belfast and The Giants Causeway.


Thanks you very much and keep on doing your grate job.
Greetings from Russia.


E.Smetanin


 


March 2012

I just returned from my first (hopefully of many) trips to Ireland.  I travelled by myself and developed my itinerary independently.  I chose Railtours for a 3-day/2-night tour and I couldn't be happier.  I was so incredibly impressed with the attention to detail, organization, warmth, and sincerity of all the people I dealt with.  I could not be more highly complimentary of - or grateful for - my guides on day 1 and day 3 in particular, Marie and Noel. 


 


The behind-the-scenes logistics and coordination that must go on with these tours - especially the overnight ones - I know must be really daunting.  Yet it was done so seamlessly, which simply enhanced the joy of what I was seeing and experiencing.


 


This trip was a life-long dream, and the wonderful experience I had was due in large part to your wonderful organization.  Thank you and please convey my sincere and special thanks and gratitude to Marie and Noel in particular.


 


Jan Jones


Montgomery Village, Maryland 


 


February 2012

Last week, my niece and I took the tour to the Giant's Causeway with the amazing Dave Gallagher.  Everything about the day was great, with the exception of the train from O'Connolly Station having mechanical problems creating a 30 minute delay.  Railtours Ireland arranged for a minibus to pick up those of us who were delayed and we caught up to the tour coach at the first scheduled stop.  The scenery was spectacular and the bus driver, "Big Al," was funny.  


 


When Dave learned my niece would be staying in Ireland for an internship at the Embassy, he took us under his wing.  On the train trip home, we were the only returning Dublin passengers on the tour, so he sat with us and gave us terrific advice regarding other tours, where to go, where not to go, and so on.  He provided his contact information should my niece need any help or information during her stay.  


 


Consequently, I would be delighted to go on any tour Dave Gallagher was leading.  We also enjoyed our tour to the Cliffs of Moher, with Marie as our guide.  Dave gave us great advice about where to sit and what to order at O'Connor's pub in Doolin, and he was absolutely right.




Linda A. Hazelton February 2012

Dear Sir or Madam,


 


My wife and I had a wonderful tour from Dublin to Northern Ireland last week.  Dave Gallagher was our tour guide.  We thoroughly enjoyed the day and have some wonderful lasting memories, and pictures.


 


Dave was most helpful and informative.  He made sure all our seats were reserved and, of course, we had the “best seats in the house” on both the train and coach.  He laid out the day for us on the train ride with maps and brochures and provided us with loads of great information.


 


We look forward to another tour with Rail Tours Ireland in the future.


 


Sincerely,


 


Ivy and Terri Shuman


 


January 2012

Hi there, Back on the 5th May 2011 my husband and I did a tour of Wicklow Mountains, Kilkenny and Waterfor Crystal, first by rail, then coach, and return journey by rail. 
We had THE most beautiful day, one we remember very, very fondly now back in Australia.
Sorry I have taken a while to put pen to paper only thought about this when I was recommending the trip to a workmate who goes to Ireland in May, 2012.
Congrats to all involved as the people were very nice, helpful, extremely happy which made our day very enjoyable.
Many thanks for the memories.


January 2012

To Whom it May Concern

I just wanted to tell you that I have had a wonderful time on the tours I booked with your group.
 



  • The Ashling hotel is very nice.  The 1st evening I was here (Dec 16) I had an allergic response to something in the room.  When I contacted the desk they moved me to another room, no questions asked.  Someone helped move my luggage and was assigned to clean the room I had been in.  The room they moved me to was an upgraded room at no additional charge.  That wasn't required, but was very nice.  I slept soundly and did not have any more troubles with my allergies.  When I returned to the hotel after my tour on the 19th, I was a little worried about the room they would assign me.  But the woman at the desk remembered me and offered to put me in the same upgraded room I had stayed in on the 16th.  She offered this without me even saying anything to her about my previous visit.  Very good customer service.  Very much appreciated.  The doorman helped with my luggage and everyone I came into contact here was very pleasant.  Thank you.

  • The tour guides were great.  Marie was very friendly and helpful my 1st day.  When I and another woman were late for the bus due to lunch she arranged to have the sandwich wrapped to take with us so that the other passengers would make their train.  She balanced their needs with ours perfectly.  When her time with us was over, she stayed with us to make sure we were on the train to Killarney before she left to head home.  She even waited to be sure we found suitable seats.  We were met by a gentleman in Killarney who delivered us to the hotel with clear instructions for the morning.

  • The International Hotel was lovely.  The most friendly hotel I have been at in a while.  The rooms were quaint and quiet.  The food was good and the people very nice.  My last day at the hotel they arranged to have the night man fix a breakfast for me to take since I was leaving before the breakfast service started.  He packed me not only the sandwich I asked for, but included some chips and a sweet treat as well.  Very nice man - very thoughtful.

  • I don't recall the driver's name for the Ring of Kerry tour, but he was very skilled with the bus and very knowledgeable.   He was especially interesting when we came to the national park.  I really enjoyed his stories of being a young man and cutting the rhododendron for fire wood.

  • Then there was Noel and John for the Cliff's of Mohr tour.  What can I say.  Very nice men.  Very pleasant.  And Noel is a stitch!  He is such a wit.  I enjoyed listening to his stories and was entertained by the jokes he told.  Made the trip even more enjoyable.  He reserved tables for us so we would have plenty of room to relax on the train.  He made sure we all knew where we needed to go in order to get back our hotels.  I can't say enough good things about this gentleman.  He is such a treasure.


I was leery about booking a trip on the internet, but I must say I was not disappointed in the least.  It was a very good way for a single woman to see the sights of Ireland in a short time and in a safe, comfortable fashion.  Thank you to you and your staff for making this such a nice trip.

Sincerely 



Lori Schemmel December 2011

I have to write and rave about my tours with your company, especially the ones I took with Dave Gallagher. Dave and your other staff and guides made me feel comfortable and included. It isn't easy traveling alone and I never once felt I was alone. From the staff at the station to the bus drivers to to the people in your office. Everything was easy. Even when my tours had to get switched around, everything was flawless! Dave and everyone else went above and beyond to make the experience great. The guides also created a great environment where everyone on the tours came together as one unit and I was able to make so many new friends! Thank-you so much for having such amazing tours and great people. I went on another great tour with another company, but the guide although funny and knowledgeable lacked the fine tuned people skills your staff had. I laughed so much on Railtours from Northern Ireland to the Cliffs of Mohar to Kerry. I would definitely book with you again and recommend you highly. I also want to mention John the driver on my Cliffs Great driver and nice man. Also Noel! He wasn't my guide but took the train over with us on the Kerry trip. He was a pleasure to talked to and helped the long ride go by quickly with his lovely stories! There was also a man in the lunch stop on the Kerry trip, Gerry, who took great care of me even with my special dietary needs. He even gave me extra decaf tea bags to take with me on my travels because he knew how hard that was to find and didn't want me to be without tea. Dave gave me so many great suggestions of what to do in Dublin. He helped me discover Cobblestone near my hostel for great traditional music. He also offered to take pictures of me at stops because I was struggling taking pics of myself.  could go on and on about dave and everyone else. So many times people take the time to write about the things that go wrong on their trips. I wanted to take the time to write about the good stuff. Keep up the great work. It is the little things that matter! Until next time...  


Giacinta Pace

November 2011

My wife and I were in Ireland and used Railtours Ireland to book four one day tours. We were extremely pleased with all the one day trips and would like to thank the drivers, tour guides and staff for a job well done. Dave Gallagher and Norman were especially good and made long days very pleasant.Thank you again for making our trip most pleasant.

Rick & Sue Gilbert
November 2011

This past week, my family and I participated in a day trip with your organization to Cork, Ireland.  Miceal Bolger, was our tour guide and he did an outstanding job.  Not only was he a lot of fun, he was extremely knowledgeable regarding all of the attractions.  During my families two week vacation in Europe, he really made this portion of our trip very special.

Thanks!

Stephanie November 2011

I was fortunate to join a wonder group of people and an awesome guide (Miceal Bolger) on Tuesday for a tour of Blarney Castle.  I don't normally review my tours but in this instance felt I must write to commend you on a very well organized tour and for a guide who not only provided us with the history and context but was amusing to boot.  I so fell in love with Ireland and cannot wait until I return when I will definitely book more tours with railtoursireland.
Regards,

Mona Wasfy


November 2011

Dublin Departure

 
DAY TOURS FROM DUBLIN

DAY TOURS FROM CORK

DAY TOURS FROM LIMERICK

OVERNIGHT TOURS
with afternoon departures

2 DAY TOURS

3 DAY TOURS

4 DAY TOURS

5 DAY TOUR

6 DAY TOUR

8 DAY TOUR

9 DAY TOUR

SHORTER DAY TOURS - *Book Today - Travel Today

Rail Breaks

Railtours Ireland Tel:+353 1 856 0045 | Toll Free: 1-877-451-4783 | Freephone (UK): 0800 328 2899 | Email:info@railtoursireland.com credit cards